• Manslaughter & Intoxication Manslaughter in Texas

  • 360-Top-Attorneys-2024
  • AVVO Top Attorney 10 Rating - Frank Sellers
  • 2024 TX Fort Worth Criminal Attorney
  • av-2024
  • TTLA-logo
  • Super Lawyers - Frank Sellers
  • AVVO 5 Star 99 Reviews - Frank Sellers
  • AV Preeminent Rated Lawyers
  • Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Fort Worth
  • AVVO Rating 10/10 Top Attorney in Criminal Defense
  • Super Lawyers Up and Coming 100
  • AVVO Rating - 5 Stars for Frank Sellers
  • AVVO Rating 10/10 Top Attorney in DUI & DWI
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association Founding Member
  • AVVO Rating 10/10 Top Attorney in Criminal Defense
arrow pointing to the right

Manslaughter Lawyer in Dallas/Fort Worth

Intoxication manslaughter in Texas is a serious offense with significant (and often compounding) consequences. In fact, clients facing intoxication manslaughter charges are often facing additional charges, such as DWI.

You do not have to face these charges alone.

The Fort Worth manslaughter attorneys and DWI lawyers at Sellers Law Firm Attorneys know how high the stakes are when it comes to charges of intoxication manslaughter. Learn more about what it means to be charged with intoxication manslaughter in Texas, and call us today at 817-345-7978 so that we can get started building your defense.

What is intoxication manslaughter in Texas?

Intoxication manslaughter in Texas is a sub-type of manslaughter. Manslaughter occurs when an individual has caused the death of another person through reckless action. Intoxication manslaughter occurs when a person operates a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated and, because of their intoxication, causes the death of another person.

For the exact laws, read:

However, prosecutors do not need to prove that you intended to cause a person’s death or even that you recklessly caused their death in order to stick you with an intoxication manslaughter charge. Rather, they have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were intoxicated and that your being intoxicated caused the death.

Experienced manslaughter attorneys like those at Sellers Law Firm understand this distinction and know how to use it to their advantage while defending you in court.

No case is too complex for our legal team to handle and we are ready to investigate whatever is necessary to obtain evidence that can be used as leverage against the prosecution or law enforcement.

Our Results Portrait of Frank Sellers

Intoxication manslaughter vs. vehicular manslaughter

When clients ask us about intoxication manslaughter in Texas, we often learn that they are confused about the difference between intoxication manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter.

The main difference between intoxication manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter is the question of whether or not the person charged was intoxicated at the time of the accident.

What is the average sentence for intoxication manslaughter in Texas?

Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony in Texas. Second-degree felonies carry with them a fine of up to $10,000 and incarceration in a Texas State prison for 2 to 20 years. However, as mentioned before, a person charged with intoxication manslaughter may also find themselves fighting additional charges.

For example, if more than one person died in the accident, you may be charged with more than one count of intoxication manslaughter, which can lead to “stacked” charges. You might also be charged with DWI, which carries its own penalties — penalties that increase if this is not the first DWI charge you’ve received.

With the right defense, however, a skilled manslaughter attorney may be able to get your charges dropped, or lowered to probation.

Call Sellers Law Firm Attorneys for quality manslaughter defense

If you’ve been charged with intoxication manslaughter in Texas, one of the smartest things you can do for you and your family is to hire a skilled and experienced manslaughter attorney to help you build your defense. Not all intoxication manslaughter attorneys are the same; make sure that you vet your potential lawyer and find the best DWI lawyer for you.

Sellers Law Firm Attorneys have a proven track record of successfully fighting for clients facing both general and intoxication manslaughter charges, as well as intoxication assault and criminally negligent homicide charges.

Remember: You only get one shot at this. Call Sellers Law Firm Attorneys at 817-345-7978 or contact us online today.

Why Choose Sellers Law Firm?

  • Trial-tested experience
  • Free initial case consultation
  • In-house investigation services
  • Agile, dedicated team
  • Award Winning Law Firm

Get Help Now

You only get one shot at this.
Call or message us today.

817-928-4222 Schedule Consultation